Master's thesis: Environmental Impact of the Solartainer Amali

Environmental impact of the Solartainer with LCA method (Life Cycle Assessment)

My name is Philipp and I studied environmental engineering at the Technical University of Darmstadt. The studies follow some years of working in the research and development of printable inorganic electronics for display applications. After having decided to reorientate I found myself learning again. Approaching the end of the degree programme I had to write a thesis. I knew that I wanted to apply the LCA method since I like the structured approach of the method as well as its clearness and have therefore set my focus on this method in previous courses. However I was less decisive on the product to be analyzed. That’s when AGT appeared in my field of vision. An announcement of AGT on the bulletin board of my college caught my attention and there we go.

In my master’s thesis I have assessed the environmental impacts of the Solartainer Amali with the aim of highlighting optimization potential and comparing it to another power generating technology.

The basic idea of LCA is the analysis of material and energy flows that are exchanged with the environment throughout a product life cycle and quantifying their impact. By relating the amount of impact to the function of a product, one can compare very different products or technologies which provide the same function. Since the flows can cause a variety of environmental impacts, the “best” product can vary between impact categories. I chose to focus on flows that contribute to global warming (like exhaust gases), flows that affect human health (like exhaust gases, particulate matter, heavy metals), flows that represent the consumption of rare-earth elements as well as energy related flows.
3-s2.0-B978012814719100032X-f32-07-9780128147191
Life cycle of a product (https://www.sciencedirect.com/topics/earth-and-planetary-sciences/life-cycle-analysis)